Stu Bennett added to the NWA commentary team, updated PPV lineup

The NWA announced that Stu Bennett has been added to their broadcast team and additional notes from Tuesday's episode of NWA Power.

NWA aired its final episode of season one on Tuesday night featuring several news announcements for the ‘Into the Fire’ pay-per-view on Saturday, December 14th.

The show ended with Nick Aldis announcing that Stu Bennett (formerly Wade Barrett in WWE) will be joining the broadcast team replacing Jim Cornette at the pay-per-view.

Joe Galli thanked Jim Cornette for his contributions in their acknowledgment of his departure from the company but did not go into the details surrounding the exit.

Cornette was featured on the show on commentary with Galli for the two matches and a post-match celebration with The Rock ‘N’ Roll Express.

The show was built around The Rock ‘N’ Roll Express defeating Thomas Latimer & Royce Isaacs to win the NWA tag titles. The match only went four-minutes but Cornette did a strong job of going over The Express’ history and made the title change feel significant. Cornette stormed the ring to celebrate with The Express after the match.

They added a rematch between the two tag teams at ‘Into the Fire’.

The only other match featured Aron Stevens defeating Ricky Starks to receive a National title shot against Colt Cabana. Stevens faked a knee injury allowing The Question Mark to attack Starks behind the referee’s back and Stevens recovered to steal the pin. It will be a three-way at the pay-per-view involving Cabana, Stevens, and Starks.

Finally, Nick Aldis and James Storm selected referees for the first two falls of their 2/3 falls match on December 14th. Storm selected Brian Hebner while Aldis chose Tim Storm and they will flip a coin if they go to a third fall.

Aldis’ promo selecting Tim Storm and explaining why Storm is receiving the title match was the best thing on the show. Aldis shines in the role of world champion and is among the top speakers in the industry this year.

Here is the card for the ‘Into the Fire’ pay-per-view on Saturday, December 14th:
*Nick Aldis vs. James Storm in a 2-of-3 Falls Match for the NWA title
*Colt Cabana vs. Aron Stevens vs. Ricky Starks for the National title
*The Rock ‘N’ Roll Express vs. Thomas Latimer & Royce Isaacs for the NWA tag titles
*Allysin Kay & Ashley Vox vs. Melina, Thunder Rosa & Marti Belle (they will choose two members of Team Melina for the match)
*Mr. Anderson vs. Eli Drake
*Trevor Murdoch vs. The Question Mark

About John Pollock 5646 Articles
Born on a Friday, John Pollock is a reporter, editor & podcaster at POST Wrestling. He runs and owns POST Wrestling alongside Wai Ting.