Madusa, Jazz and Luna Vachon are first inductees into Women’s Wrestling Hall of Fame

Photo Courtesy: George Tahinos

The Women’s Wrestling Hall of Fame held its inaugural inductions on Saturday.

The first three inductees were Madusa (Debrah Miceli), who also wrestled as Alundra Blayze for WWE; Jazz (Carlene Begnaud); and, posthumously, Gertrude “Luna” Vachon.

The ceremony took place as part of the Icons of Wrestling Convention & Fanfest at the 2300 Arena in Philadelphia, PA.

The Women’s Wrestling Hall of Fame was established in October 2022, with the mission statement to “educate, promote, and preserve the history of Women’s wrestling.”

The founders are Angel Orsini, Susan “Tex” Green, Christopher Annino, and Gary “Pitbull” Wolf. The Hall of Fame is open to both professional and amateur wrestlers.

Annino gave an interview to Slam Wrestling in October, outlining the background to the founding of the new institution.

The organization’s website lists several more inductees for its first class. These include:

  • The entire roster of the original GLOW promotion
  • Mildred Burke
  • Rita Marie Chatterton
  • Susan “Tex” Green
  • Ethel Johnson
  • Cora Livingston
  • Iryna Merleni
  • Toni Rose & Donna Christanello
  • Marva Scott
  • Beverly “Hammer” Shade
  • Babs Wingo


About Neal Flanagan 775 Articles
Based in Northern Ireland, Neal Flanagan is a former newspaper journalist and copy editor. In addition to reporting for POST Wrestling, he co-hosts The Wellness Policy podcast with Wai Ting and Jordan Goodman.