Leagues and opening matches for the AEW Continental Classic revealed

Image Courtesy: AEW

The full list of wrestlers in the AEW Continental Classic was unveiled on Wednesday afternoon, along with the opening matches.

The round-robin tournament will be split into two leagues, “Blue” and “Gold”. 

The competitors are as follows:

Blue League Gold League
Bryan Danielson Jon Moxley
Andrade El Idolo Swerve Strickland
Eddie Kingston Rush
Brody King Mark Briscoe
Claudio Castagnoli Jay Lethal
Daniel Garcia Jay White

Tony Khan and Tony Schiavone appeared in a livestream on Wednesday afternoon to reveal the competitors and the opening matches.

Wednesday’s episode of AEW Dynamite will see the following Gold League contests:

  • Rush vs. Jay White
  • Swerve Strickland vs. Jay Lethal
  • Jon Moxley vs. Mark Briscoe

The Blue League will get underway on Saturday’s episode of AEW Collision:

  • Daniel Garcia vs. Claudio Castagnoli
  • Eddie Kingston vs. Brody King

Continental Classic matches will have a 20-minute time limit, with 3 points are awarded for a win, 1 point for a draw, and zero for a loss. The winners of each league will be decided on the December 27th edition AEW of Dynamite, with the final set for AEW Worlds End on December 30th.

The winner will become the first AEW Triple Crown Champion. The new championship will combine the NJPW STRONG Openweight Championship, the ROH World Championship, and the AEW Continental Championship.

Current line-up for AEW Dynamite, November 22nd

  • Continental Classic Gold League: Rush vs. Jay White
  • Continental Classic Gold League: Swerve Strickland vs. Jay Lethal
  • Continental Classic Gold League: Jon Moxley vs. Mark Briscoe
  • Christian Cage “rechristens” Luchasaurus and Nick Wayne
  • Toni Storm gives AEW Women’s Championship acceptance speech
About Neal Flanagan 909 Articles
Based in Northern Ireland, Neal Flanagan is a former newspaper journalist and copy editor. In addition to reporting for POST Wrestling, he co-hosts The Wellness Policy podcast with Wai Ting and Jordan Goodman.