Liv Morgan comments on SmackDown Women’s Title win: “I don’t think anyone deserves anything, but I know that I’ve earned this”

After becoming SmackDown Women's Champion, Liv Morgan did an interview and reflected on her first championship accolade in WWE

Photo Courtesy: WWE

The new SmackDown Women’s Champion Liv Morgan chats her title victory.

At the 2022 WWE Money in the Bank Premium Live Event, Liv Morgan won the women’s Money in the Bank Ladder match and later cashed in on Ronda Rousey to become SmackDown Women’s Champion.

This title victory is Morgan’s first championship win in her seven years with WWE. Following her win, Morgan was interviewed by Ariel Helwani for BT Sport and here’s what she had to say about becoming champion:

This is everything. No, this is everything. There’s no words. No words to describe this. This is everything, this is everything. Oh my gosh, I can’t believe it. I mean I can believe it but I just… I’ve wanted this my whole entire life so, it’s overwhelming and it’s surreal but I feel incredible. This is the feeling that I’ve been searching my entire life for. So right now, holding this women’s title, knowing that I’m the champion… wow.

It’s so much better, it’s so much better [the reality of becoming champion is better than dreaming about it]. It’s really, really, really, really overwhelming to hear the crowd chant, ‘You deserve it.’ It’s funny because I don’t think that anything in life — I don’t think anyone deserves anything, but I know that I’ve earned this. I know that I’ve earned this. That’s what makes it so much better.

The men’s Money in the Bank winner is Theory, who lost the United States Title to Bobby Lashley earlier in the night. POST Wrestling’s written recap of Money in the Bank can be read here.

If the quote in this article is used, please credit BT Sport with an H/T to POST Wrestling for the transcription. 

About Andrew Thompson 8727 Articles
A Washington D.C. native and graduate of Norfolk State University, Andrew Thompson has been covering wrestling since 2017.