Tyrus relinquishes NWA World Television Championship

There are going to be two sets of five-way matches that'll lead to crowning a new champion

Photo Courtesy: National Wrestling Alliance

A new World Television Champion will be crowned.

Since August of 2021, Tyrus had been reigning as NWA World Television Champion. After a year with the belt, Tyrus has vacated the title. He is scheduled to get another shot at the NWA Worlds Heavyweight Championship at Hard Times 3 when he competes against Matt Cardona and the current champion Trevor Murdoch.

NWA’s Kyle Davis provided an update on the TV Title picture and revealed that ten wrestlers will be competing in two separate five-person matches. The winners of those respective bouts will go one-on-one for the championship. The following names are in the talent pool for the TV Title:

  • Ricky Morton
  • Jax Dane
  • Anthony Mayweather
  • Marshe Rockett
  • A.J. Cazana
  • Caprice Coleman
  • Jordan Clearwater
  • The Pope
  • Rush Freeman
  • Max The Impaler

Since the World Television Title was brought back into the fold in 2020, Ricky Starks, Zicky Dice, The Pope and Tyrus have been champion. NWA’s weekly Powerrr program is recapped here on POST Wrestling via the Shot In The Dark audio show.

About Andrew Thompson 7216 Articles
A Maryland native and graduate of Norfolk State University, Andrew Thompson has been covering wrestling since 2017.