AEW Rampage Notes: Darby Allin retains, Moxley & Danielson prevail, Hangman officially cleared

Photo Courtesy: AEW

January 6, 2023

Veterans Memorial Coliseum – Portland, OR

By: John Kleinchester

Our first live Rampage of 2023 began with a bang as Top Flight jumped Jon Moxley on the outside to start their match. Moxley & Danielson won after a great competitive match with Danielson submitting Darius Martin with the Regal Stretch.

Next up Hangman Adam Page cut a great promo (in an empty warehouse?) holding papers indicating he was cleared for this Wednesday’s match against Jon Moxley. 

Next up Dr. Britt Baker and Jamie Hayter faced off against Robyn & Charlette aka The Renegades. Baker and Hayter won after a sliding clothesline and a curb stomp. 

A House of Black promo aired with Malakai saying he missed the Eddie Kingston he used to know that was a violent, sadistic bastard. The promo ended with Julia Hart telling Eddie they were there to help him.

“Perro Peligroso” Preston Vance was out next defeating local talent Sonico with a discus lariat in 42 seconds. After the match Vance ripped Sonico’s mask off to massive boos from the Portland crowd.

The main event saw Darby Allin defending his newly won TNT Championship against a seemingly revitalized Mike Bennett with some pretty brutal spots especially considering how intense the Darby/Samoa Joe match was just two night prior.

The finish saw Darby execute an avalanche Code Red followed by a Coffin Drop to retain the title. 


Announced for Dynamite Next Week in Los Angeles, CA:

  • The Firm’s Big Bill & Lee Moriarty vs. Junglehook (Jungle Boy Jack Perry & Hook)

AEW Rampage Results:

  • Jon Moxley & Bryan Danielson over Top Flight in 13:31
  • Dr. Britt Baker, D.M.D. & Jamie Hayter over The Renegades in 8:48
  • Preston Vance over Sonico in 0:42
  • TNT Championship: Darby Allin over Mike Bennett in 12:05
About John Kleinchester 159 Articles
New Jersey born and raised. Wrestling fan since Lex slammed Yokozuna on the deck of the USS Intrepid. Favorite Wrestler of all time is Owen "The Rocket" Hart.