New NEVER Openweight Champion

Photo Courtesy: NJPW

Tama Tonga won the NEVER Openweight Championship for the third time on Monday.

At Destruction in Ryogoku, Tama Tonga pinned David Finlay to become a three-time champion after hitting the Styles Clash followed by the Jay Driller.

The 19+ minute match saw the two brawl at the start after a belt shot before the bell rang. It escalated into multiple Gun Stun counters by the challenger including one to thwart Into Oblivion and another to stop a discus forearm.

It is the third title reign for Tonga with previous NEVER Openweight title victories in May 2022 this past year at Wrestle Kingdom 17.

Finlay won the title at Wrestling Dontaku on May 3 by defeating Tonga.

About John Pollock 5423 Articles
Born on a Friday, John Pollock is a reporter, editor & podcaster at POST Wrestling. He runs and owns POST Wrestling alongside Wai Ting.