Blocks are announced for 2023 NJPW G1 Climax

Photo Courtesy: New Japan Pro-Wrestling

The blocks and match cards for the 2023 NJPW G1 Climax were revealed on Saturday.

The announcement came during day one of the promotion’s New Japan Road tour in Chiba. The 32 entrants in this year’s tournament will once again be split into four blocks.

A Block

  • Chase Owens
  • Hikuleo
  • Ren Narita
  • Shota Umino
  • Yota Tsuji
  • Gabe Kidd
  • Kaito Kiyomiya

B Block

  • Kazuchika Okada
  • Taichi
  • Great-O-Khan
  • Will Ospreay
  • Tanga Loa
  • El Phantasmo

C Block

  • David Finlay
  • Tomohiro Ishii
  • EVIL
  • Tama Tonga
  • Shingo Takagi
  • Aaron Henare
  • Eddie Kingston
  • Mikey Nicholls

D Block

  • Hiroshi Tanahashi
  • Tetsuya Naito
  • Hirooki Goto
  • Zack Sabre Jr.
  • Toru Yano
  • Jeff Cobb
  • Shane Haste
  • Alex Coughlin

New Japan also revealed the cards for the tournament, which begins on July 15th in Sapporo. There will be a 20-minute time limit on block matches this year.

About Neal Flanagan 775 Articles
Based in Northern Ireland, Neal Flanagan is a former newspaper journalist and copy editor. In addition to reporting for POST Wrestling, he co-hosts The Wellness Policy podcast with Wai Ting and Jordan Goodman.