TNA Rebellion Notes: “Broken” Matt Hardy is back, Laredo Kid wins title, Shawne Merriman attacks Joe Hendry

Photo Courtesy: TNA

TNA Rebellion featured multiple returns to the company with the biggest being “Broken” Matt Hardy to conclude the event.

Moose retained the TNA Championship in the main event against Nic Nemeth following a series of near-falls by each man and Nemeth connecting with the Famouser on several occasions.

Moose kicked out from a spear by Nemeth, side-stepped a superkick, and connected with his spear for the win.

As The System came out from backstage, the “Lights Out” video that was teased on television began to play – leading to the reveal of Broken Matt Hardy, who appeared inside the ring.

Hardy hit Moose with the Twist of Fate and held up the TNA Championship to end the show.

Hardy left the company in 2017 with his brother, leading to a public battle between the Hardys and Anthem Sports & Entertainment over the usage of the Broken Universe’s intellectual property. Eventually, the two sides reached amicable terms and Matt even posted a photo on social alongside Anthem executive Ed Nordholm.

Hardy’s contract with AEW recently expired and he has spoken openly about being a free agent and stated he had a contract offer from AEW.

The “Lights Out” promotion had several teases throughout the show including the lights going out twice during the Knockouts Championship match to reveal PCO, and the returning Sami Callihan. It led to Callihan assisting Grace and fighting off Kon, Jason Hotch & John Skyler and Grace pinning Steph De Lander with the Juggernaut Driver.

Mike Santana also returned to TNA as a surprise opponent for Steve Maclin and scored the win after hitting Spin the Block. Santana previously wrestled for the company from 2017-2019 as a member of LAX.

The pay-per-view also featured former NFL player Shawne “Lights Out” Merriman, who participated in an angle with the story that he was there to support AJ Francis. While Rich Swann was facing Joe Hendry, Merriman took exception to Francis and Swann’s actions and challenged Francis to step inside the ring. It was a plot to distract the referee as Merriman blasted Hendry with a clothesline and Swann hit a Frog Splash to win.

There was only one title change on the show, which occurred on the pre-show as Laredo Kid defeated Crazzy Steve to become the Digital Media champion. Laredo Kid fought Steve on the turnbuckle, bit the champion, and hit the one-man Spanish Fly to win.

TNA will continue with TNA+ specials over the next two months with Under Siege on May 3 and Against All Odds on June 14.

They announced their next pay-per-view will be Slammiversary at the Verdun Auditorium on July 20 in Montreal, Quebec.

*Ace Austin, Chris Bey & Leon Slater over Zachary Wentz, Trey Miguel & Myron Reed in 9:06 (pre-show)
*Digital Media Championship:
Laredo Kid over Crazzy Steve © in 8:40 (pre-show)
*Knockouts Tag Team Championships: Dani Luna & Jody Threat © over Rosemary & Havok in 10:30 (pre-show)
*X Division Championship: Mustafa Ali © over Jake Something in 10:00
*Rich Swann over Joe Hendry in 8:40
*Full Metal Mayhem: Frankie Kazarian over Eric Young in 15:20
*Mike Santana over Steve Maclin in 8:10
*TNA Tag Team Championships: Eddie Edwards & Brian Myers © over Trent Seven & Speedball Mike Bailey in 12:50
*Last Man Standing: Josh Alexander over Hammerstone in 19:50
*Knockouts Championship: Jordynne Grace © over Steph De Lander in 12:15
*TNA Championship:
Moose © over Nic Nemeth in 17:10

About John Pollock 5574 Articles
Born on a Friday, John Pollock is a reporter, editor & podcaster at POST Wrestling. He runs and owns POST Wrestling alongside Wai Ting.