New WWE Women’s Tag Team Champions crowned at Payback

Nia Jax and Shayna Baszler defeated Sasha Banks and Bayley to win the WWE Women's Tag Team Championships at Payback.

‘The Golden Role Models’ (Sasha Banks & Bayley) had a run-in with Nia Jax and Shayna Baszler after SummerSlam which led to a match for the WWE Women’s Tag Team Titles being set up for the Payback pay-per-view. After four months as champions, Sasha Banks and Bayley’s second reign as Women’s Tag Team Champions was ended by the make-shift duo of Nia Jax and Shayna Baszler.

Baszler secured the victory for her team by tying up Banks’ legs between her own and then locking in the Kirifuda Clucth submission onto Bayley and using Sasha’s arm to choke Bayley out.

Jax and Baszler are the fourth pair to win the WWE Women’s Tag Team Championships since 2019 and with that title switch, that makes two title changes tonight at Payback. The first saw Bobby Lashley defeat Apollo Crews to become United States Champion.

About Andrew Thompson 5505 Articles
A Maryland native and graduate of Norfolk State University, Andrew Thompson has been covering wrestling since 2017.