PFL World Championship: Six champions crowned, Kayla Harrison wins

Photo Courtesy: PFL

The PFL Championships took place on Friday night with six champions crowned as the promotion returned to pay-per-view.

In the main event, Canadian Olivier Aubin-Mercier won his second consecutive PFL Lightweight Championship with a unanimous decision win against Clay Collard over five rounds. It was Aubin-Mercierโ€™s tenth consecutive win and follows victories against Shane Burgos, Anthony Romero, and Bruno Miranda this season. Collard went through Yamato Nishikawa, Stevie Ray, and Shane Burgos to earn his place as a lightweight finalist.

Renan Ferreira won the 2023 Heavyweight Championship with a TKO victory against Denis Goltsov by TKO in the second round.

Larissa Pacecho won her second PFL Championship after becoming its lightweight winner one year ago. In 2023, she competed at featherweight and defeated Marina Mokhnatkina by unanimous decision over five rounds to secure the $1 million. Since beating Kayla Harrison in the 2022 final, Pacecho went 3-0 this season coming into Friday nightโ€™s final.

Magomed Magomedkerimov won his second PFL tournament securing the welterweight championship with a unanimous decision win against Sadiboy Sy. Magomedkerimov previously won the PFL tournament at 170 pounds in 2018 and was a finalist in 2021. The loss was Syโ€™s first since 2021 as he failed to repeat as PFLโ€™s welterweight champion.

Impa Kasanganay won the light heavyweight championship by defeating Josh Silveira by unanimous decision and winning his sixth consecutive fight. After the fight, Kasanganay indicated he would like to move up to heavyweight and fight Francis Ngannou or fight Bellator 205-pound champion Vadim Nemkov.

Kayla Harrison returned one year after her loss to Larissa Pacheco and got back in the win column with a unanimous decision nod against former UFC fighter Aspen Ladd. Harrison addressed the elusive fight with Cris Cyborg after her win.

Derek Brunson made his PFL debut by defeating Ray Cooper III by unanimous decision. Brunson had lost his final two fights in the UFC to Jared Cannonier and Dricus du Plessis as he rebounded on Friday night. Cooper III had previously won the PFL Welterweight Championship in 2019 and 2021.

Jesus Pinedo won the PFL Featherweight Championship on the preliminary card with a TKO win against Gabriel Braga in the third round. This was a rematch from April where Braga defeated Pinedo by a split decision. Pinedo bounced back with wins against Brendan Loughnane and Bubba Jenkins to earn a spot in the final.

*Lightweight Final: Olivier Aubin-Mercier def. Clay Collard by unanimous decision (49-46 all)
*Heavyweight Final: Renan Ferreira def. Denis Goltsov by TKO at 0:26 of Round 2
*Womenโ€™s Featherweight Final: Larissa Pacheco def. Marina Makhnatkina by unanimous decision (49-46 all)
*Welterweight Final: Magomed Magomedkermimov def. Sadibou Sy by guillotine choke at 1:17 of Round 3
*Light Heavyweight Final: Impa Kasanganay def. Josh Silveira by unanimous decision (50-45 all)
*Kayla Harrison def. Aspen Ladd by unanimous decision (30-27 all)
*Derek Brunson def. Ray Cooper III by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-25, 30-25)
*Featherweight Final: Jesus Pinedo def. Gabriel Braga by TKO at 0:58 of Round 3
*Biaggio Ali Walsh def. Joel Galarza Lopez by KO at 1:24 of Round 2
*Phil Caracappa def. Khai Wu by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)
*Jesse Stim def. Josh Blyden by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)

About John Pollock 5573 Articles
Born on a Friday, John Pollock is a reporter, editor & podcaster at POST Wrestling. He runs and owns POST Wrestling alongside Wai Ting.